2022 Spring Conference Planning Committee


AWRA will continue to hold this conference in-person as planned with strict safety and health protocols in place to continue our commitment to keep conference participates and AWRA safe. We cannot confirm there will be a hybrid component to this conference at this time. When submitting a Call for Topical Sessions and Workshops, please submit these knowing you are making a commitment to be in-person. If circumstances change in the local area (i.e. similar to the overwhelming spread of COVID-19 in Orlando and the health crisis that followed), the AWRA Board of Directors will assess the situation as it unfolds and may choose to make different choices at this time.

In the world we live in today, there is an inherent and permanent risk of being exposed to COVID-19 in your daily life. Trips to the grocery store, getting gas, picking up your children from school, and seeing family and friends are among the risks we take daily to live a normal and productive life. AWRA seeks to normalize how the AWRA community can gather in-person to fulfill our mission of community, conversation, and connection in the water resources community. Our safe and healthy protocols in place are the best practices of in-person gatherings today. The restrictions that are in place are the current standards, and protocols may change closer to the conference date. UPDATED: January 10, 2022

Conference General Chair

Dr. Tapash Das

Senior Technologist
Jacobs Engineering Group Inc.
San Diego, CA

Conference Committee Co-Chairs

Dr. Zhenxing Zhang

Water Supply Hydrologist
Illinois State Water Survey Prairie Research Institute
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Champaign, IL

Scott Rayder

Executive Director
Alabama Water Institute
The University of Alabama
Tuscaloosa, AL

Conference Committee Members

Dr. Claire Bleser
President, AWRA
Chanhassen, MN

Susan Butler
Integrated Water Resources Management - Global Lead
Jacobs Engineering Group Inc.
Austin, TX

Dr. Michael E. Campana
Technical Director, AWRA
Professor of Hydrogeology & Water Resources Mgmt.
Oregon State University
Corvallis, OR

Dresden Farrand

American Water Resources Association
Woodbridge, VA

Mike Gremillion

Director, Global Water Security Center
The University of Alabama
Tuscaloosa, AL

Dr. Charlotte Roehm
Deputy Director
Water Planning
Western Resource Advocates
Boulder, CO

Dr. Venki Uddameri
Professor and Director
TTU Water Resources Center
Texas Tech University
Lubbock, TX

Technical Program Co-Chairs

Dr. Bangshuai Han

Assistant Professor
Ball State University
Muncie, IN

Dr. Siddharth Saksena

Assistant Professor
Virginia Tech
Blacksburg, VA

Finance Chair

Nick Martin
Principal Scientist
Southwest Research Institute
San Antonio, TX

Field Trips/Workshops Chair

Greg Guthrie
Director, Groundwater Assessment Program
Geological Survey of Alabama
Tuscaloosa, AL

Student Activities Chair

Dr. Eric Hersh
Senior Water Resources Engineer
Stantec Consulting Services Inc.
Austin, TX


If you actively engage in our community, your career and organization will benefit. We offer multiple opportunities for engagement via conferences, social media, webinars, committees and publications.

TEL • (540) 687-8390 | FAX • (540) 687-8395


The majority of images on our website were donated by Gary Whitton at ultimateplaces.com.