The William C. Ackermann Medal for Excellence in Water Management

Given annually, or at such time as qualified candidates are identified and nominated, this award goes to an individual who has achieved a status of eminence in the design and/or implementation of exemplary water management practices at the state, regional, or local government level. Particular consideration is given to those who have put into operation nontraditional practices for managing water resources.

Award Criteria

The person chosen for this award must have compiled a distinguished record of developing and/or implementing state-of-the-art water management strategies for application at the state, regional, or local government level. Written documentation must support a sustained performance in water management and the exercise of innovative and imaginative water management skills. The individual selected may have demonstrated these talents while associated with:
  1. a regional;
  2. a state, or local government agency;
  3. a regional, state, or local governing body;
  4. commission or committee;
  5. a water-related organization;
  6. an appropriate interest group; or
  7. any combination of these.

Nomination Process

The 2021 nomination process is closed. Nominations for 2022 Awards Program will be announced early next year.


If you actively engage in our community, your career and organization will benefit. We offer multiple opportunities for engagement via conferences, social media, webinars, committees and publications.