The Mary H. Marsh Medal for Exemplary Contributions to the Protection and Wise Use of the Nation’s Water Resources

Given annually, or at such time as there are qualified nominees, this award is presented to an individual who has achieved a status of eminence in some aspect of public service related to water resources education and/or management.

Award Criteria

The individual chosen for this award must be one whose record of extraordinary achievements include: setting, designing, influencing, and/or implementing water-related policies, practices, or programs at the national, state, or local government level. Written documentation must be provided to demonstrate that the performance was sustained over time and that the individual’s contributions to the wise use of the nation’s water resources were of an extraordinary nature. The individual nominated may have demonstrated these talents while associated with:
  1. a governmental agency,
  2. a legislative body,
  3. a commission or committee, or
  4. a public-minded organization.

The field of expertise is not a deciding factor, the contribution to protecting and wisely using the nation's waters is a deciding factor.

Nomination Process

The 2021 nomination process is closed. Nominations for 2022 Awards Program will be announced early next year.


If you actively engage in our community, your career and organization will benefit. We offer multiple opportunities for engagement via conferences, social media, webinars, committees and publications.